Tom Piccirilli

Tom Piccirilli is the author of more than twenty novels, including Shadow Season, The Cold Spot, The Coldest Mile, and A Choir of Ill Children. He’s won two International Thriller Awards and four Bram Stoker Awards, as well as having been nominated for the Edgar, the World Fantasy Award, the Macavity, and Le Grand Prix de L’imagination.

He died on July 11, 2015.

Find Tom Piccirilli on:


  • International Thriller Writers Award, Best Paperback Original (The Coldest Mile, 2010)
  • International Thriller Writers Award, Best Paperback Original (The Midnight Road, 2008)
  • Bram Stoker Award, Best Alternative Forms (The Devil’s Wine, 2004)
  • Bram Stoker Award, Best Novel (The Night Class, 2003)
  • Bram Stoker Award, Short Fiction (The Misfit Child Grows Fat on Despair, 2002)
  • Bram Stoker Award, Best Poetry Collection (A Student of Hell, 2000)

Interviews/Guest Posts


“[Tom Piccirilli] is easily one of the best writers out there, his output is tremendous and I’ll be damned if he’s disappointed yet. . . . I won’t sugarcoat it: [Every Shallow Cut] is a depressing read. But it’s a damn excellent one, too, and worth the open-mouthed, knee-hugging keening you’ll probably be doing after you’ve finished it.”
—Ed Kurtz’s Best Damn Books of 2011

“Piccirilli is a master of the novella-length noir. Every Shallow Cut coils and tightens like a spring, giving us an image of a man for whom things can only get worse. I’ve been a fan of Piccirilli’s work for a long time, and Every Shallow Cut delivers.”
—Brian Evenson, author of Last Days and Fugue State