Melanie Tem

Award-winning author, poet, and playwright Melanie Tem has 14 published novels. Her works have won, among many accolades, the Bram Stoker, British Fantasy, and the World Fantasy Award. Dan Simmons called her “the literary successor to Shirley Jackson,” and readers and reviewers consistently rave about her deeply involved stories.

She died on February 9th, 2015.

Find Melanie Tem on:
The Official Melanie Tem Website


  • Bram Stoker Award, Alternative Forms (Imagination Box [with Steve Rasnic Tem], 2002)
  • World Fantasy Award, Best Novella (The Man on the Ceiling [with Steve Rasnic Tem], 2001)
  • Bram Stoker Award, Long Fiction (The Man on the Ceiling [with Steve Rasnic Tem], 2000)
  • International Horror Guild Award [The Man on the Ceiling (with Steve Rasnic Tem], 2000)


“Her writing is a cry from the very heart of darkness.”
—Dan Simmons

“Spectacular . . .”
—Stephen King

“Beautifully written, enchantingly delivered, and unsettlingly effective in invading your inner sanctum. This is one you’ll find quietly lingering there at the back of your mind for some time afterwards.”
DLS Reviews