Lisa L. Hannett

Lisa L. Hannett is a Canadian writer based out of Adelaide, South Australia. Her short stories have appeared in venues including Clarkesworld Magazine, Fantasy Magazine, Weird Tales, ChiZine, Midnight Echo, Electric Velocipede, Tesseracts 14, Shimmer and Ann & Jeff VanderMeer’s Steampunk Reloaded, among other places. Her stories have won three Aurealis Awards, and have appeared on Locus’s Recommended Reading List, Tangent Online’s Recommended Reading List, as well as in The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror (2010 and 2011), and Imaginarium 2012: The Best Canadian Speculative Fiction. Her first collection of short stories, Bluegrass Symphony, (Ticonderoga Publications) won the 2011 Aurealis Award for Best Collection, and was nominated for a World Fantasy Award for Best Collection. Lament for the Afterlife is her first novel.

Find Lisa L. Hannett on:
The Official Lisa L. Hannett Website


  • Ditmar Award (winner, Lament for the Afterlife, 2016)


“As an act of literary worldbuilding, [Lament for the Afterlife] is a triumph, evoking the unclassifiable oddness of Arkady and Boris Strugatsky’s Roadside Picnic and Jeff VanderMeer’s Area X trilogy.
Publishers Weekly

“An excellent example of speculative fiction-as-mirror, Lament for the Afterlife causes readers to challenge comfort and question the status quo.”
Kirkus Reviews