Adrian Van Young

The Man Who Noticed Everything, Adrian Van Young’s first book of fiction, won Black Lawrence Press’s 2011 St. Lawrence Book Award and was published in 2013. His fiction and non-fiction have been published or are forthcoming in Lumina, Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading, The American Reader, Black Warrior Review, The Collagist, VICE, The Believer, The New Yorker, and Slate, as well as States of Terror Volume II and Gigantic Worlds: A Flash Science Fiction Anthology. He is a regular contributor to the literature website,, and the author of The Murder Chronicles: A New Orleans Murder Mystery, an interactive, serialized mystery novella on Open Road Media’s crime website, The Lineup. Shadows in Summerland is his first novel.

Find Adrian Van Young on:


“. . . a deeply disquieting portrait of 19th Century America. . . . a fabulous and weird addition to the contemporary fantastic.”
—Laird Barron, author of X’s for Eyes

Shadows in Summerland is an extraordinary novel certain to enchant readers of Sarah Waters as well as those looking for a thrilling and transporting gothic tale rich in atmosphere and unforgettable characters, dead and alive.
—Julia Fierro, author of Cutting Teeth

Shadows in Summerland is a rich, strange, elegant novel of the supernatural, firmly rooted in the best of classic gothic fiction. . . . A superb achievement of weird fiction by
a burgeoning master.”
—Michael Rowe, author of Enter, Night and Wild Fell

. . . a witty and disturbing horror novel: it’s as if Henry James had written an issue of Tales From the Crypt.”
—Bennett Simms, author of A Questionable Shape