Carolyn Ives Gilman

Isles of the Forsaken

ison_2

Ison of the Isles

Carolyn Ives Gilman writes both fiction and nonfiction about frontiers. Growing up close to the U.S.-Canada boundary, she became a historian of borders between nations, races, and cultures, and a writer of fiction about even more exotic worlds than ours.

Carolyn Ives Gilman’s most recent novel, Ison of the Isles, completes the story started in Isles of the Forsaken, which IO9 called “an insanely fun, fast-paced read that will appeal to fans of both Ursula K. Le Guin and George R.R. Martin.” In 2011 she was nominated for both a Hugo Award and a Nebula Award (for the third time). Her first novel, Halfway Human, was called “one of the most compelling explorations of gender and power in recent SF” by Locus magazine. Her short fiction has appeared in Fantasy and Science Fiction, The Year’s Best Science Fiction, Bending the Landscape, Interzone, Universe, Full Spectrum, Realms of Fantasy, and others, and she has a collection of short fiction, Aliens of the Heart, from Aqueduct Press. Her work has been translated and reprinted in Russia, Romania, the Czech Republic, Sweden, France, Poland, and Germany.

In her professional career, Gilman is a historian specializing in 18th- and early 19th-century North American history, particularly frontier and Native history. Her last nonfiction book, Lewis and Clark: Across the Divide, was featured by the History Book Club and Book of the Month Club. Her history books have won the Missouri Governor’s Humanities Award, the Missouri Conference on History Best Book Award, the Northeastern Minnesota Book Award, and the Outstanding Academic Book of the Year award from Choice magazine. She has been interviewed on All Things Considered, Talk of the Nation, History Detectives, and the History Channel. She is currently working on a history of the American Revolution on the frontier.

Carolyn Ives Gilman is a native of Minnesota who now lives in Washington, DC and works for the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

Find Carolyn Ives Gilman on:
Wikipedia

Blurbs

“[Gilman’s] characters have complex motives and tactics for navigating events, and serve as convincing and sympathetic viewpoint characters. The novel delivers magic, intrigue, and high seas adventure, while under the surface is insightful subtext about gender, race, and especially class, a thought-provoking mirror.”
—Christopher East

“Carolyn Ives Gilman can produce an exciting adventure tale that is both a thoughtful exploration of political and philosophical themes and an in-depth study of fascinating characters. Most authors do well to accomplish one of those things.”
—STLToday.com