Ison of the Isles

Revolution has broken out in the Forsaken Isles. The islanders have risen up to drive out the Inning Empire, but still they have no one to unite them. Only an Ison can do that—a leader whose heart has been cleansed by the curing of dhota-nur. The power to create an Ison lies in the hands of three people, and none of them are heroes. Spaeth has the ancient Lashnura heritage, but does she have the stature? Harg has the military genius, but he utterly rejects the price of dhota-nur. And Nathaway, the Inning outsider, finds himself unexpectedly holding the key to the future of the Isles. Perilously poised between Inning conquest and the savage powers of ancient forces, the Forsakens need them to decide. But for an Ison to rise, each of them must betray one of the others.

Ison of the Isles continues the story started in Isles of the Forsaken.

Reviews of Ison of the Isles:

If you’re ready to be fully carried away, Ison of the Isles is a good choice. Ives Gilman builds her world with a muscular poise that is so graceful and authoritative, it seems easy in its confidence.
[S]harp observation of the workings of power and prejudice.
[A]n insanely fun, fast-paced read that will appeal to fans of both Ursula K. Le Guin and George R.R. Martin.
 . . .this is an enjoyable read about a fantasy world of magic and warfare that mirrors the clash between oppressed and oppressor in our own history. I look forward to Ms Gilman's future writing.
. . . lively action and political seriousness.
Carolyn Ives Gilman can produce an exciting adventure tale that is both a thoughtful exploration of political and philosophical themes and an in-depth study of fascinating characters. Most authors do well to accomplish one of those things.

Other Reviews

goodreads 4.03/5 stars more...

Author Info

Carolyn Ives Gilman writes both fiction and nonfiction about frontiers. Growing up close to the U.S.-Canada boundary, she became a historian of borders between nations, races, and cultures, and a writer of fiction about even more exotic worlds than ours.

Carolyn Ives Gilman's most recent novel, Ison of the Isles, completes the story started in Isles of the Forsaken, which IO9 called “an insanely fun, fast-paced read that will appeal to fans of both Ursula K. Le Guin and George R.R. Martin.” In 2011 she was nominated for both a Hugo Award and a Nebula Award (for the third time). Her first novel, Halfway Human, was called “one of the most compelling explorations of gender and power in recent SF” by Locus magazine. Her short fiction has appeared in Fantasy and Science Fiction, The Year’s Best Science Fiction, Bending the Landscape, Interzone, Universe, Full Spectrum, Realms of Fantasy, and others, and she has a collection of short fiction, Aliens of the Heart, from Aqueduct Press. Her work has been translated and reprinted in Russia, Romania, the Czech Republic, Sweden, France, Poland, and Germany.

In her professional career, Gilman is a historian specializing in 18th- and early 19th-century North American history, particularly frontier and Native history. Her last nonfiction book, Lewis and Clark: Across the Divide, was featured by the History Book Club and Book of the Month Club. Her history books have won the Missouri Governor’s Humanities Award, the Missouri Conference on History Best Book Award, the Northeastern Minnesota Book Award, and the Outstanding Academic Book of the Year award from Choice magazine. She has been interviewed on All Things Considered, Talk of the Nation, History Detectives, and the History Channel. She is currently working on a history of the American Revolution on the frontier.

Carolyn Ives Gilman is a native of Minnesota who now lives in Washington, DC and works for the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

Also by this Author:

randomness