The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter

ISBN: 9781926851969
eISBN: 9781926851136

Buy eBook

$9.95
BitLit

Want the best of both worlds? Check out our partner, BitLit.

Buy TPB

$15.95 $11.17

The city is crumbling . . . . Clouds over Nowy Solum have not parted in a hundred years. Gods have deserted their temples. In the last days of a dying city, the decadent chatelaine chooses a forbidden lover, separating twin outcasts and setting them on independent trajectories that might finally bring down the palace. Then, screaming from the skies, a lone god reappears and a limbless prophet is carried through South Gate, into Nowy Solum, with a message for all: beyond the city, something ancient and monumental has come awake.

Reviews of The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter:

Beautifully written and morally ambivalent, this complex tale will appeal to readers of Gene Wolfe and China Miéville.
[Brent Hayward]'s second novel combines elegant writing with moral ambiguity and an impressive array of grotesque characters.
I'll be honest out front: this one's a tough nut to describe. It's dark fantasy melded so strangely and fluidly with science fiction that finding a familiar comparison is nearly impossible.

Therein lies the appeal, I think. Like Hayward's debut, Filaria, this is ground-breakingly odd fiction that challenges the intellect and distills images in the mind's eye so indelibly that it's nearly a shock to enter the waking world again.

—Zachjary Jernigan, author of No Return
By turns surreal, macabre and stunningly violent, The Fecund’s Melancholy Daughter is dreamlike in its strangeness and complexity. Like a dream, it is difficult to define and difficult to shake. The imagery lingers like archetypes dredged up from the sleeping mind.
Hayward’s tale launches head-first into the puzzling dark fantasy world that he has so intrinsically created here. Like a Salvador Dalí masterpiece transposed into words
—Chris Hall, DLS Reviews
Despite the fact that I liked it very much and that so much about author Hayward’s use of language is appealing, I’m still not totally sure I understand the story and what it was meant to mean. A part of me wonders if that, too, is not the point . . . . The Fecund’s Melancholy Daughter is a thoughtful, if not entirely satisfying, read and Hayward has written another book (after his debut: 2008’s Filaria) worthy of asking questions about.
—David Middleton, January Magazine
The character development is excellent and is never overdone . . . . There is nothing predictable or cliché here. The Fecund’s Melancholy Daughter is a wonderful and entertaining read.
The Fecund's Melancholy Daughter is a very effective piece of storytelling, but the story it tells is an unconventional one . . . [t]hose willing to engage with the novel on its terms will find this to be an intriguing and well-written fantasy from a very promising author.

Other Reviews

goodreads 3.27/5 stars more...

Author Info

Brent Hayward Portrait

Brent Hayward was born in London, England, and grew up in Montreal. His short fiction has appeared in various publications. In 2006, his story “Phallex Comes out” was nominated for a Story South award for best on-line fiction of that year. In 2008, his first novel, Filaria, was published by CZP. Publishers Weekly gave the book a starred review, calling Filaria “powerful” and “beautifully written.” His second novel, The Fecund’s Melancholy Daughter, also got a starred review from Publishers Weekly and was shortlisted for the 2012 CBC Bookie awards.

Also by this Author:

randomness